Colby Group
University of Mississippi
Home Research Group David A. Colby Publications Patents Teaching Contact Funding
David A. Colby


Postdoctoral Fellow, 2006–2008
   The Scripps Research Institute
   Research advisor: Professor Dale L. Boger

Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry, 2006
   University of California, Irvine
   Research advisor: Professor A. Richard Chamberlin

Pharm.D. (honors in pharmacy & with distinction), 2001
   University of Iowa


Associate Professor, 2014–present
Director of Academic Affairs, 2017–present
   University of Mississippi
   Division of Medicinal Chemistry
   Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Research Associate Professor, 2014–present
   University of Mississippi
   Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Assistant Professor, 2008–2014
   Purdue University
   Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Assistant Professor, 2008–2014
   Purdue University
   Department of Chemistry (joint appointment)

Honors and Awards

  • 2020–2021 Faculty Achievement Award, University of Mississippi

  • 2020–2023 Distinguished Teacher Scholar, UM School of Pharmacy

  • 2017–2018 Faculty Service Award, UM School of Pharmacy

  • 2017 Outstanding Reviewer, Medicinal Chemistry Communications

  • 2016 Outstanding Reviewer, Medicinal Chemistry Communications

  • 2015 Outstanding Reviewer, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters

  • 2013 Young Academic Investigators Award Symposium, ACS Indianapolis

  • 2013 Purdue President's Inventors Recognition Reception (Sigma-Aldrich product #L511315)

  • 2013 Medicinal Chemistry Communications Themed Issue on “New Talent”

  • 2011 Thieme Chemistry Journal Award

  • 2010–2011 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy New Pharmacy Faculty Research Award

  • 2004–2005 American Chemical Society Division of Medicinal Chemistry Graduate Fellowship

  • 2003–2004 UCI Outstanding Contributions to the Department Teaching Award

  • 1999–2000 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Merck Research Scholar Award

  • 1999 Rho Chi Pharmacy Honor Society

  • 1998–1999 American Cancer Society Student Stipend Award

  • 1997 Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society

  • 1996 Golden Key National Honor Society

National Professional Service

  • 2018–2019 Faculty Delegate, University of Mississippi, AACP

  • 2016–2017 Faculty Delegate, University of Mississippi, AACP

  • 2012–2015 Secretary/Treasurer, Drug Discovery and Development Interface Section, AAPS

  • 2013–2014 Chair, Chemistry Section, AACP

  • 2013–2015 Chair, Nutraceuticals and Natural Products Focus Group, AAPS

  • 2009–2010 Chair, Natural Products Chemistry Focus Group, AAPS

Industry Affiliations

  • 2017–present Scientific Advisor, GnuPharma, Owasso, OK

  • 2014–present Member, Field Science Team, Shaklee Corporation, Pleasanton, CA

  • 2014–present Partner, Waterways Health, Oxford, MS

  • 2014–2017 Member, Advisory Board, Union Springs Integrative Medicine, Fort Mitchell, KY


  • 2020: 72nd Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society-New Orleans [cancelled due to COVID-19], University of Florida, remote to Gainesville

  • 2019: 71st Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society-Savannah

  • 2018: University of Mississippi-American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences Student Chapter, University of Texas-San Antonio, Trinity University

  • 2017: University of Georgia-Athens, Louisiana State University, Baylor University, Wisconsin Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 2017 Annual Conference, Health and Nutrition Science Symposium-Portsmouth, GnuPharma

  • 2016: Shaklee Regional Conference-Chicago, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Shaklee Regional Conference-Minneapolis, University of Mississippi, Chapel Hill Science Symposium, University of Rhode Island, Northeastern University, Maine Medical Center Research Institute, University of Oklahoma, University of Louisiana-Monroe

  • 2015: National Institutes of Health Southeastern Regional IDeA Meeting-Biloxi

  • 2014: Union Springs Integrative Medicines, University of Mississippi Medical Center

  • 2013: 245th American Chemical Society National Meeting-New Orleans, Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland-Baltimore, University of Mississippi, Eli Lilly and Company, 246th American Chemical Society National Meeting-Indianapolis, Halocarbon Products Corporation

  • 2012: American Chemical Society 43rd Central Regional Meeting-Dearborn, University of Minnesota, University of Iowa, Clemson University, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, University of Michigan

  • 2011: Illinois State University, Purdue University

Faculty Page, Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Faculty Profile, School of Pharmacy

NCBI SciENcv BioSketch

LinkedIn Professional Profile

Google Scholar Profile

Contact information:
phone: (662)915-1766
© 2020 David A. Colby