Sacred Harp Singing

Oxford, Mississippi

Sarah Tidwell takes a turn in the hollow square at the all-day singing in Oxford, Mississippi, March 10, 2013. Video by Stanley Wise

The thirty-fifth annual all-day Oxford Sacred Harp singing will be held on Sunday, March 8, 2015, beginning at 9:45 am sharp, at the Powerhouse Community Arts Center, corner of University Avenue and South 14th Street in Oxford. Those coming to Oxford from the east on U.S. highway 278 (also known as highway 6) will exit for Downtown Oxford (South Lamar Boulevard), turn right and proceed one half-mile north, to the first stoplight. Turn right on University Avenue and go two short blocks. The Powerhouse is on your left, with the large blue water tower behind it. From Memphis or Jackson, take I-55 to Batesville and US 278 (hwy 8) to Oxford, take the Downtown Oxford exit (South Lamar Boulevard), turn left and proceed as above. The building, which is the headquarters of the Yoknapatawpha Arts Council, looks like a real powerhouse, and there is ample parking in front and on the side street. The entrance is at ground level, no stairs. Please note that March 8 is the first day of daylight savings time.

The singing, which takes place annually on the second Sunday in March, attracting singers from Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, and other states, is sponsored by the Yoknapatawpha Arts Council, the Center for the Study of Southern Culture, and the University of Mississippi department of music. For further information, call Warren Steel at (662) 236-5356 or e-mail

[ Lodging in Oxford ]
[ Location map (Bing) ]
[ Oxford Singing Facebook page courtesy of The Powerhouse ]
[ Photographs of the 2010 singing (Martha Beverly) ]

Minutes of the 2014 Singing

Powerhouse Community Arts Center
Oxford, Mississippi
March 9, 2014

The thirty-fourth annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Powerhouse Community Arts Center on the second Sunday in March. The class was called to order by Warren Steel leading 126. Mark Davis offered the morning prayer, then led 171 and the class entered into a business session. The following officers were elected to serve: Chairman: Warren Steel; Vice Chairman: Mark Davis; Secretary: Brenda Chafin; Assistant Secretary: Wanda Capps; Arranging Committee: Ann Jett and Drew McGuire. Leaders: Arlon Gardiner 67; Larry Ballinger (AL) 151; Mark Tew 99; Henry McGuire 472; Wanda Capps (AL) 298; Anne Steel 348b; Matt Bell (TN) 406; Becky Briggs (FL) 336; Steve Adams (AL) 331; Natalie Davis 155; Tim Taylor (AL) 569b; Logan Green (TN) 306; Cheyenne Ivey (AL) 176b; Gravis Ballinger (AL) 314; Allison Davis (AL) 436; Sarah Beasley (AL) 340.


Warren Steel and called the class to order leading 61. Leaders: Shelbie Castillo (MI) and Reba Windom (AL) 215; Dorothea Maynard (TN) 442; Cliff Hall 286; Juanita Shaw (TN) 63; Jan Murray 457; Bob Barber and Rob Barber 282; Regina Derstine 270; Lisa Davis 200; Amber Davis (AL) 192; Ken Tate (AL) 271t; Mary Amelia Taylor (AL) 505; Julie Heerin (TN) 417.


Mark Davis called the class together leading 106; Leaders: Molly Barber 277. Memorial lesson: Henry McGuire led 146 for the sick and homebound. He then read the names of those deceased in the past year: Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Bud Oliver, Josie Hyde, C. T. Williams, Hugh Bill McGuire, Emily Boswell, Charlie Gates, Jean Gray, W. M. Allen, and Diane Mennella. Reba Windom led 556b, and Henry McGuire led 269 for the deceased, and John Van Horn offered prayer. End of memorial lesson. Leaders: Elene Stovall (AL) 142; Lisa Geist (AL) 540; Drew McGuire 430; John Wall 72b; John Plunkett (GA) 391.


Warren Steel called the afternoon session to order leading 396. Other leaders: Ben Barber, with three students from Brazil, 47b; Danny Creel (AL) 280; Earl Ballinger (AL) 283; Seth Holloway (TN) 235; Jack Barbera 45t; Jeff Corbett (AR) 565b; Sarah Tidwell 42; Sunny Young and Eli Baker 318; Karol Barber 154; Chuck Howell 112; Mary Chrestman 129; John Van Horn 273; Ann Jett 339; Brenda Chafin (AL) 77t and 542 (in memory of Hugh Bill McGuire); John Plunkett and Julie Heerin 50t; Becky Briggs, Sarah Beasley, Seth Holloway, and Mel and Dorothea Maynard 274t, 319; Tim and Mary Amelia Taylor 196; Reba Windom and Shelbie Castillo 224; Larry, Earl and Gravis Ballinger and Lisa Geist 528; Danny Creel, Ann Jett and Wanda Capps 327; Henry, Drew and Will McGuire, Sarah Tidwell and Thomas Burns 454; John Van Horn and Warren Steel 236. Following announcements, Warren and Anne Steel and Mark and Natalie Davis led the closing song on 285t, and the class was dismissed with prayer by Earl Ballinger.

Chairman - Warren Steel,
Vice-Chairman - Mark Davis,
Secretary - Brenda Chafin

[ Sacred Harp Singing | Warren Steel | Music Dept. | UM Home ]